Make Warpaint not War

November 2, 2010

I like girls that sing. They’re pretty cool. And a lot of the badder music I’ve heard lately has featured girls singing lead. Relax, this is by no means a qualifier, but merely an observation from a dude who grew up on Mobb Deep and Wu Tang and counts Toro Y Moi, Washed Out, Atlas Sound, Flying Lotus, etc., amongst my favorites of the year. But when I hear a great record fronted by a woman, I get extra jazzed, because it’s outside my normal wheelhouse. Plus there’s the underlying sexual intrigue. Nah mean?

So in addition to the previously mentioned Best Coast, Tennis and Glasser, I’m digging Warpaint. What’s not to love about a group led by three LA girls…called Warpaint. Count me in. Combine killer bass, ethereal/detached vocals and some jangly, darkish rock instrumentation and you get a formula that kills shit, on the “I’m too cool for you anyway” tip.

“Undertow”

“Warpaint”

“Elephant”

Leave a Reply

