Au Revoir Simone

August 21, 2009

I’d always been interested in Au Revoir Simone. Maybe it was the sexy sounding name. Maybe it was the sultry, endearingly heartfelt vocals I heard on several tracks. Whatever the magnetism, it wasn’t until today that I actually spent time with an entire record of their material. I gotta say, I’m into it. Yea, it might be subdued, or even, dare I say girlie at times, but shit if the music isn’t incredibly listenable. The subtle electronic textures that accompany the melancholy vocal accents (even if the lyrics aren’t meant to be so), remind me of the Postal Service. Yea, I went there. I honestly have no idea what these girls look like, but I can see them craned over their Moogs, hair cascading over their domes, clad in plaid shirts and tights. That may not even be cool garb for chicks, but it sounds hot to me. So do the two songs below from their latest album “Still Night, Still Light”:

“Knight of Wands”

“Shadows”

Leave a Reply

