Frog and Toad

September 25, 2008

Does anyone remember the children’s books Frog and Toad? Man I used to love that shit. Frog and Toad was a series of children’s books by Arnold Lobel originally published in the 1970s based on the adventures of, you guessed it, Frog and his friend Toad. Each book contained a collection of short stories revolving around a central message or value. The illustrations are sweet—albeit a bit trippy—and the stories teach kids (and adults for that matter) the importance of friendship, acceptance, patience, amongst other lessons. Maybe that’s what the world needs right now: story time with Frog and Toad, some cookies and milk and a nap. Check out the photo above, don’t those dudes look happy? Their clothes are so fresh too.

2 Responses to “Frog and Toad”

  1. Niki-D Says:

    Not only do I remember Frog and Toad I read at least one story every night! – to my 3 year old son. It’s funny because even if he doesn’t want to read Toad and Frog, I require we read one Frog and Toad story each night. If I’m reading, I have to get my Frog and Toad fix. The joke around my house is that Toad is my hero. Or my twin. I’m famous for telling my family to leave me alone – I want to go back to bed! Our family motto is “Today, I’m going to take life easy…” or “Tomorrow!”.
    thanks for bringing it up, it’s nice to know I’m not the only adult who still loves that twisted little friendship from my youth.

  2. Iz Says:

    I love it too. I read them to my five year old. We just read “frog and toad all year” for the first time. I laughed so hard at “icecream” It me feel happy when I read any stories by him. I love his writing style. It us great fir reading aloud to kids. We could all use some Arnold Lobel.


Leave a Reply

