Hercules and Love Affair @ Studio B

May 18, 2008

Though definitely one of my favorite venues, Studio B is never an easy place to get to from Manhattan. Last night the trip wasn’t any easier. The always-dependable L wasn’t running from 8th Ave. so I had to hoof it to Union Square and take the train to Bedford Ave. When I finally arrived at the venue around 12:45AM I was greeted by what looked to be more like a fashion show after-party than a concert. People were decked out to the nines and I vaguely recall several sets of suspenders. That was just the scene outside.

Inside, the dance floor was mobbed…T & T manned the decks and worked kids into a frenzy. To fight to get a decent spot to see the stage, I had to navigate through a crowd not unlike the hordes in Times Square…only here everyone was drunk and dancing. At this point I thought I may have been better off at home on the couch with a forty. Being a disco show, I knew weirdness would be on the menu and I got a helping when the DJs were replaced by a transvestite MC who introduced the band. After he/she had worn out his/her welcome, the lights dimmed to reveal two kids, one perched on each side of the stage, decked out in all white dancing to intro music. The kid on my side looked like a disco Robocop with a bleached blond high top fade. His dance appeared to be a spazzed-out combination of Tai Chi and the Egyptian.

At last, Hercules and Love Affair took the stage as an eight piece—a two-man horn section, two guys on keys/synth including frontman Andrew Butler, dude on bass, dude on drums and two female (?) singers. No appearance by Antony.

In my opinion, the first couple of songs they played lacked a little punch, but the band soon found its groove with tracks like “You Belong,” “Athene” and “Blind.” Overall, I thought their sound translated well to the live medium and I was particularly impressed given the fact this was their first live performance. It’s definitely fun music and very hard not to move to. I would definitely go see Hercules and Love Affair again, and next time will bring a big group with me. Unfortunately, it might be a while as they’ll be abroad through July. Check out their full touring schedule on their myspace.

Break out the polyester suits and roller skates cause disco is back. Here’s a nice clip someone posted of the performance of “Blind” from last night:

Leave a Reply

