Pointer Footwear

May 1, 2008

Why is it that when things are hard to find you tend to want them even more? Perhaps it’s the thrill of the chase or the notion of exclusivity. Whatever the case, I can’t for the life of me track down a pair of Pointers. Lurking in the shadows of iconic British brands like Clarks, Ben Sherman and Fred Perry, London-based Pointer was founded in 2004, “with the aim of making simple, well-designed casual shoes in response to a market then saturated with increasingly technical trainers and hyped-up limited edition sneakers.” Word. Unfortunately, since I stumbled upon the brand about six months ago, I’ve scoured shoe stores in vain. Even too-cool-for-school retailer Reed Space stopped carrying them, which is when you know you’re in trouble.

What I like most about the sneakers is their unassuming design and subtle colorways. There are no imposing logos and even the stitching itself adds character. The “Debaser” (top left) and “Mathieson” (bottom left) are two particularly clean lines, and the mid-sole reminds me of a sort of Dunk/Alife hybrid. Pointer is “inspired and informed by everything from art and music to skateboarding and breakfast.” Sheeeit, I love breakfast! So if anyone can clue me in on how to get my hands on a pair, do the right thing and holler at me.

Check out Pointer’s Spring/Summer ’08 collection here.

2 Responses to “Pointer Footwear”

  1. soybomb Says:

    I heard they can be found on the “on sale” rack where they sell Visvims.

  2. vanillahead Says:

    oh you mean at TJ Maxx?


Leave a Reply

