Voltron: Defender of the Universe

April 30, 2008

One of my favorite childhood TV shows was Voltron: Defender of the Universe. The basis of the show was a team of five heroes who each commanded a robot lion. The five lions would combine to form a large ass-kicking robot named Voltron, smiting bad guys with his gigantic sword (see picture). Each episode the Voltron team would fight to protect the planet Arus, usually from the evil galactic ruler King Zarkon, his son Lotor, or the witch Haggar.

According to earlier comics, Voltron used to be a wholly intelligent entity not the five piece robot I’m used to. This fact I did not know. Apparently, Voltron was tricked, by the scheming Haggar, into landing on a black comet, in which she subsequently attacked and blew him into five pieces (five lions). The five lions each have a distinctive personality, along with the heroes who piloted them. Captain Keith pilots the Black lion, and is the leader of the Voltron force and does leader-like stuff. Lance Charles McClain pilots the Red Lion, and is the second in command and the reckless ladies-man of the group. Darell “Pidge” Stoker pilots the Green Lion, and is the scientist and academic of the group. Princess Allura, of the planet Arus, pilots the Blue Lion, and is the beauty and can also raise the dead (Nice combo). Tsuyoshi “Hunk” Garett pilots the Yellow Lion, and is the strong-man of the group but with a soft heart and an affinity towards Fruit Loops.

Anyways, when this show appeared on TV, I would watch every minute of the show including commercials. I cried out when I found VHS tapes of the show, and would watch them repeatedly. One of my favorite toys was the Black Lion and the Yellow Lion. I sadly never completed the entire set. Luckily, other people shared my enthusiasm. I recently found the Reebok Voltron pack. With each shoe comes a Lion, so after getting all five shoes I could form Voltron: Defender of the Universe. Too bad the shoes are so terrible, even though the Voltron robot might be worth it.

5 Responses to “Voltron: Defender of the Universe”

  1. mastermind26 Says:

    Where did you find the shoes?
    I also loved Voltron as a kid and the yellow and black lions were my favorite as well!

  2. soybomb Says:

    mastermind26, these shoes came out a long time ago. You can probably find them on ebay…i doubt in any shops though.

  3. luis Says:

    I got up very early morning to watch Voltron myself. I have that very lasting memory. I used to own the entire toy, with sword and all. That was one of my favorite toys ever. I to this day watch the TV show on Boomerang. I still love it.

  4. Esechie Oje Says:

    Whooa!! I loved the voltron force so much when I was a kid also. I used to have them recorded on VHS from the TV. So I could have a bit of the fun and action to watch every now and again. Unfortunately those tapes are destroyed. It would be good to know were one can lay hands on the whole series again!

  5. Michael Says:

    Love the v man


Leave a Reply

