Omega Speedmaster Legend LE

April 22, 2008

I’ve realized that visiting high end watch stores is more like dating than shopping. First of all, you need to plan when and where you will visit such mentioned store, then shower/brush/rinse/shave, and dress appropriately. I would say that anything less than gelled hair, groomed facial hair, and clean pressed shirt/pants will set off “Timex owner” alarms as you enter the store. I haven’t confirmed the existence of such alarm, but the number of cold stares and curt responses are a good enough warning.

So prior to me knowing the laws of watch browsing, I entered the Bailey’s, Biddle, and Banks in Short Hills, NJ wearing a tshirt, jeans, and sneakers. I definitely could hear the unspoken passive aggressive whispers of “We will have to run a thorough credit check. Maybe this is something more aligned with your budget.” Anyways, as I was walking around the display cases one watch did catch my eye, the Omega Speedmaster Legend Michael Schumacher LE. The red face glared back at me asking to me to try it on. So I did. The watch felt expensively heavy on my wrist but that was no matter. I wanted this watch, with all the dials and crazy numbers. The dealer spent ten minutes describing the chronometer, tachometer, the brushed steel with a satin finish, three stopwatch subdials, and the calendar. I guess with each functionality the price goes up by $500, because the price tag was $4500. Needless to say, I did not purchase this watch, but I would if i could.

One Response to “Omega Speedmaster Legend LE”

  1. dadbomb Says:

    They clearly didn’t realize that “soybomb” is a synonym for indie hipster adolescent of asiatic origin with considerable amounts of cash because he mooches on media centers and doesn’t pay rent. I didn’t make that up – it’s in urban dictionary.


Leave a Reply

